Accessibility is not just nice to have, it is often obligatory and is certified.

Title Picture certification

Table of content

  1. When is it my duty to be accessible?
  2. The standards
    1. The A-Standard
    2. The AA-Standard
    3. The AAA-Standard
  3. POUR – Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, Robust
    1. Perceivable
    2. Operable
    3. Understandable
    4. Robust

When is it my duty to be accessible?

When websites or digital systems are developed for public authorities, accessibility is usually required by law. The site must either be completely barrier-free or a barrier-free alternative must be offered. The standard that must be met is usually the AA standard.

The standards

These standards are specified by the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which distinguish between 3 levels of accessibility.

The A-Standard

The A standard is the minimum accessibility standard. Basic requirements such as contrast must be observed. The code must be implemented correctly so that the supporting technology can read and interpret the page.

The AA-Standard

There are already many things to consider here, for example, navigation via the keyboard must be possible. Also the assisting devices must be able to read the page, and the page must be displayed in a simpler form. To mention just a few points.

The AAA-Standard

The AAA standard must meet all requirements of the A and AA standards. All content must be accessible in simplified language. And audio transcription is required.

A detailed checklist can be found under made by “Autorengruppe Accessibility Checkliste 2.0”.

POUR – Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, Robust

But how is accessibility actually assessed and certified? For this purpose the website is evaluated in 4 categories.


Information and components of the user interface must be presented to users in such a way that they can perceive them.


Components of the user interface and navigation must be operable.


Information and the operation of the user interface must be understandable.


Content must be robust enough to be reliably read by a wide range of user agents, including assistive technologies.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)